5 mins with… the apprentices

George Keevill, Faults and Diagnostics Apprentice at Premier Choice Telecom, gives us the 5 minute lowdown on what it’s like to be an apprentice. 

What made you consider becoming a telecoms apprentice?

In the past, I have had a variety of entry-level jobs, but nothing I would have considered a career. It’s quite daunting for a young person to get started in a technical industry, especially one as established as telecommunications. My careers advisor knew I was interested in IT and technology, and when I heard about the position, I was very keen.

Having built a few computers myself, and used a variety of technologies and software since a young age, the role suited me greatly. It wasn’t until I did further research into the industry that I realised how reliant modern telephone equipment and services are to the internet and computers.

How long have you been an apprentice?

I have been working for Premier Choice Telecom for over three months now and am thoroughly enjoying every day. The staff are all very friendly and there is always someone willing to help me out if I get stuck with an issue or fault.

What does your typical day entail?

Most of my day is spent speaking to customers on the phone and identifying faults. More often than not, the customer isn’t tech-savvy, so I have to be able to diagnose the fault from their own observations. If the fault is beyond my skillset or requires an engineer, I then escalate it to the appropriate person.

When I am not dealing with faults, I am tasked with configuring routers for our customers, general admin tasks and training customers in the use of some of the software we supply them for their telephone solutions.

What are the benefits of being an apprentice?

The main benefits of being an apprentice involve receiving a huge amount of training and education, these go towards your personal skillset and grow you as an individual.

Being surrounded by professionals from different backgrounds gives you a huge bank of information to learn from; as well as the ability to network and gain a large amount of contacts for your industry.

And on top of all of this, you get to earn while you learn!

What advice would you give to other young people considering an apprenticeship?

I would highly recommend becoming an apprentice to any young person who is keen to kickstart their career in telecoms.  It’s a fast growing industry with deep roots in the infrastructure and business of nearly every country.

If you are considering becoming an apprentice, then go for it!

The ITP have been very friendly and supportive since I first got in contact with them. They keep in contact with my college, my work and myself and have helped me every step along the way.

Find out more about the ITP’s Apprenticeship Scheme.

Leave a Reply

